Sunderland Snooker League
News Report

Week 28

Author: Graham Rutland, 12/05/19

wc 6th May 2019

This week in the Danby Autos Sunderland Snooker League, leaders South Hylton A started well away at Biddick B with Steven Thompson winning the first frame against Peter Mills 54-49 before John Temple levelled the match winning the second frame against Adam Smith 69-47. Philip Straughan moved Biddick into the lead winning a black ball third frame against Graham Rutland 59-51 before a shortage of players by Biddick handed Hylton the fourth frame. In the pairs Peter Mills / John Temple won Biddick the match beating Adam Smith / Steven Thompson 87-43 for an excellent 3-2 win.

A 27 clearance helped Ian Stewart get South Hylton B off to an excellent start at home to Biddick A winning the first frame against Graham Smith 91-35 before Bobby Boyce won the second frame beating Stephen Tate 64-44. Rod Turnbull pulled one back for Biddick winning a black ball third frame against Tony Hazard 67-65 before John Harrison continued his good form to win a close fourth frame against David Adamson 53-50. In the pairs a 35 break by Ian Stewart, when paired with Paul Buckley, won Hylton the fame beating Stephen Tate / Terry Froud 74-22 for a 4-1 win.

Lumley got off to a winning start at home to Mill View with Roful Hoque winning the first frame against John Spruce, with the aid of a 47 break, 85-16 before Sean Henderson won a high scoring second frame against Howard Lax 73-51. Breaks of 27 and 28 helped Brian Meuse win the third frame against Norman Brown 61-43 and a 36 break saw Jordan Young win the fourth frame against Steve Chandler 67-39. In the pairs a 27 break by Sean Henderson, when paired with Brian Meuse, helped win Lumley the frame beating John Spruce / Steve Chandler 62-24 and complete the whitewash.

Pennywell Comrades B welcomed Glendale and got off to the perfect start with Andrew Doran winning the first frame against Thomas Gwyn 69-27 and John Campbell winning the second frame against Paul Atkinson 59-15. John Wiseman pulled one back for Glendale winning the third frame against Eddie Dodds 78-28 before a shortage of players by Pennywell handed Glendale the fourth frame. In the pairs John Danby / John Wiseman won Glendale the match beating Andrew Doran / John Campbell 69-43 for the 3-2 win.

Gary Stockton got Seaham Conservatives A off to a good start at home to Boldon CA winning the first frame against Graeme Ablett 71-63 before Ian Hughes won a close second frame against Joe Cromby 62-54. A 24 break helped Mark Fox start a comeback for Boldon winning the third frame against Michael Monaghan 71-32 before a 40 break helped John Smith level the match winning the fourth frame against Les Pinder 61-41. John Smith / Mark Fox completed the comeback winning the pairs against Gary Stockton / Les Pinder 70-23 for the 3-2 win.

Steels started well at home to Pennywell Comrades A with Tommy Ayre winning the first frame against Kevin Harrop 71-33 and Ray Charlton Senior winning the second frame against Joe Turner 59-35. Stuart Taylor pulled one back for Pennywell winning the third frame against Ray Charlton Junior 69-57 before Vince Flynn had an excellent result winning a black ball fourth frame against Dean Taylor 61-59. In the pairs Tommy Ayre / Ray Charlton Junior beat Dean Taylor / Steve O’Wellen 61-51 for an excellent 4-1 win.

Sadly the match between The Victory and Seaham Conservatives B was postponed but has been re-arranged for Tuesday 14th May.

Please note the following competition final dates have changed: -
Doubles Final - Norman Brown / Steve Chandler vs Alec Hannan / Richie Tiffin has changed from Friday 17th May to Saturday 18th May at Mill View starting at 7.00pm.
5 A-Side Final - South Hylton B vs Mill View has changed from Thursday 16th May to Thursday 6th June at Steels starting at 7.30pm. 

Never miss an update

Follow the site to get the latest news and results straight to your email

Follow the website now

Photos 1

  • South Hylton A - Winter League Champions 2018-2019
  • Adam Smith (Right) - Handicap Singles Winner 2018-2019

Photos 2

  • Richie Tiffin / Alec Hannan (left) - Doubles Final Winners 2018/2019
  • Steve Chandler (Right) - Over 55's Winner 2018-2019
  • John Smith (Left) - Captain's Cup Winner 2018-2019
  • Steven Thompson (Right) - Open Singles Winner 2017-2018
  • Glendale - 3 A-Side Winner 2017-2018
  • Graham Rutland / Adam Smith - Doubles Final Winners 2017/2018
  • South Hylton - Summer League Champions 2017
  • Graham Rutland Vs Gary Bell - Open Singles Final 2016-2017
  • Alec Hannan Vs Adam Smith - Handicap Singles Final 2016-2017
  • Tiffin / Hannan vs Wiseman / Danby - Pairs Final 2016-2017

Photos 3

  • Washington Snooker B - 3 a-side Champions 2015-2016
  • Green Baize - 5 a-side champions 2016
  • Farringdon - Summer League Runners Up 2015
  • 1st Division Champions 2014-2015 - Green Baize
  • 1st Division Champions 2014-2015 - Green Baize
  • 1st Division Champions 2014-2015 - Green Baize
  • Dean Wilson - 1st Division Champs, Doubles Winner & 1st Div Single RU
  • Sid Bate Retirement
  • Snooker Presentation 2010
  • Snooker Presentation 2007

Our Sponsors...